The Olllam are bracing themselves for that long awaited new album

Following an almost nine-year hiatus since their debut recording, the American-Irish crossover group the olllam are releasing the first single, “lllow the sun,” pronounced ” low the sun ” from their highly-anticipated second album, which is set for release this year. 

the olllam were formed in 2012 as a collaboration between legendary Belfast piper John McSherry ( Lúnasa, At First Light, Ulaid), fellow piper/whistler and grammy-nominated producer Tyler Duncan ( Carly Rae Jepsen, Vulfpeck, Jeremy Kittel) , Michael Shimmin ( May Erlewine,
Joshua Davis, Millish), and Joe Dart ( Vulfpeck).

This piece signifies a deep dive into musical storytelling with rich, expansive, vivid colours that form an almost impressionistic painting, over the top of the steady heartbeat of a traditional Armenian 10/8 rhythm. In the words of the band,

“We wanted to make something that could be
a refuge for these times — equal parts authentic and fairy-tale, equal parts lament and hope.

Like an ancient tree whose branches feel like they’re wrapping you up in a cosmic hug with everything and everyone with us today and those who didn’t make it this far.”

The resulting debut album, now considered a cult-classic, is lush with trance-like melodies, stunning instrumental virtuosity and a magical

marriage of tradition and technology, finding the listener somewhere between Radiohead and Planxty with the ambient emotionalism of Nick Drake or Explosions in the Sky.

Share this story
Posted in Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *